Govt lifts quarantine from ‘lower risk’ travel

The British government has announced that self-isolation for 14 days – quarantine – will not be necessary if travelling from certain European destinations that are deemed ‘lower risk’.

The full list of countries exempted can be seen here and includes France, Germany, Italy and Spain. The changes come into effect from 10 July.

This only applies if travelling direct from the lower risk destination. If you travel through a non-exempt state, then your 14-day quarantine starts from the date of travel.

At the moment this only applies to England.

“The Devolved Administrations will set out their own approach to exemptions, and so passengers returning to Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland should ensure they follow the laws and guidance which applies there,” says the Govt statement.

FLYER asked the Department for Transport whether this applies to all forms of transport including General Aviation – reply just in: “It applies to all modes of Transport.” Hooray!

The Govt says that it expects a number of the exempted countries will also not require arrivals from the UK to self-isolate. That has yet to be confirmed.

“The exempted countries and territories will be kept under constant review, so that if the health risks increase self-isolation measures can be re-introduced to help stop the spread of the disease into England,” continues the Govt statement.

“When planning holidays or overseas travel, people should check the latest FCO travel advice, including whether there are any self-isolation measures in place for their outbound or return journey.

“Passengers should also stay alert to any changes to local public health measures while they are travelling, including by subscribing to FCO Travel Advice updates.”

Foreign & Commonwealth Office (FCO) Travel Advice

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *